Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Possibly Marathon Training

on July 22, 2014

I say possibly because I am still not 100% committed to the idea of running that far…I always thought marathoners were a little bit crazy and could never see myself ever doing one! Here I am now, actually in a training plan to complete a FULL marathon! Holy Crap! I wanted to share my training plan and get some feedback on it. It is a 16 week plan, but as I said before I was pre-training for the actual training plan. I had to get my stamina up to comfortably run 3-4 miles without a problem – I am there now! The 16 week plan started this week, here is what it looks like:

Mondays – Run 3 – 10 miles (increasing miles every other week – so 2 weeks in a row I will run 3 miles, the next 2 weeks I will run 4 miles, and so on)

Tuesdays – Run 3 – 5 miles easy (mostly 3 or 4 mile runs, in month 3 – I run 5 miles)

Wednesdays – Cross Train: I teach cycling on Wednesdays so this is easy for me!

Thursdays – Pretty much the same at Tuesday but I may focus on increasing the speed a little

Fridays – Cross Train: I post a Workout of the Week for my members, they are modeled after Crossfit WOD’s and I modify them to match our group. They always include some form of cardio, mostly rowing. This will be my cross-training!

Saturday or Sunday – LONG RUN!!! Depending how I feel after doing a WOW on Fridays, I will choose which day is best for my long runs!

Week 1: 7 miles                  Week 9: 18 miles

Week 2: 5 miles                 Week 10: 12 miles

Week 3: 9 miles                 Week 11: 20 miles!!!

Week 4: 10 miles               Week 12: 18 miles

Week 5: 7 miles                 Week 13: Half Marathon

Week 6: 12 miles               Week 14: 22-24 miles -WHATTTTT!

Week 7: 10 miles               Week 15: Half Marathon

Week 8: 15 miles               Week 16: 8 miles

FINAL GOAL: RICHMOND MARATHON!!!

I get a little sketched out when I see miles longer than 13.1 – I am not so sure about this! I have read the race change policy and I do know that I can switch to the Half at anytime – I like knowing this fact. I do plan to train as if I will complete the Full but just knowing I have an option is a good thing! There are 2 half marathons in the training plan and I figured I would just time them around when I would have needed to do those miles anyway.

I know I just need to mentally commit myself and my body will follow but I am just not there yet..any tips on how to get there?

 

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

