Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Gallon Baggie Method – my new & improved Food prep!

on July 21, 2014

Since I decided 2 years ago that eating high protein – low carb was the best for me – I have been prepping my food ahead of time and storing it in a million Tupperware containers. The food prep process is essential if you are trying to eat healthy, make good food decisions, and it’s great for overall preparedness. I know personally, if I don’t prep my food and have it easily accessible – I get stressed out and end up making horrible food decisions. So basically food prep for me is a necessity and I feel a little bit stressed without it!

https://i0.wp.com/33.media.tumblr.com/217e4d54fee8ce143639a9b318b146bc/tumblr_mk87phKzP81ql5yr7o1_400.gifYes I am!

I mentioned in a earlier post that I started following MshellFitness on Instagram – she posted about her #gallonbaggiemethod for food prep and I can’t believe I had not thought of it already! I have done this method for the past 3 weeks and I absolutely love it – I know exactly what I have to eat every single day of the week and it’s all in 1 bag! No more tupperware! It’s also great to only bring my cooler in once a week, one less bag for the bag lady. MshellFitness features a calorie intake of somebody striving for competition (figure/bikini) I have tweaked it to match my goals and to stick with mostly high protein – low carb:

photo

Monday & Wednesday (high activity days):

  • 1 apple – I keep the PB at work
  • 1 chicken breast and a veggie (mostly creamed spinach, sugar snaps, or cauliflower)
  • 2 string cheese or a hunk of mozzarella cheese
  • Dark chocolate almonds
  • 1/2 of a sweet potato
  • 1 quest bar
  • 10 cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 a cucumber
  • Steak and a veggie (same as above)

Tuesday, Thursday & Friday (lower activity days): all the same minus the sweet potato

  • 1 apple – I keep the PB at work
  • 1 chicken breast and a veggie (mostly creamed spinach, sugar snaps, or cauliflower)
  • 2 string cheese or a hunk of mozzarella cheese
  • Dark chocolate almonds
  • 1 quest bar
  • 10 cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 a cucumber
  • Steak and a veggie (same as above)

So far it’s been great and I have seen the scale finally respond as of last Friday!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

