Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Your body’s “set point” or “happy weight” – what’s the deal with that?

on July 16, 2014

I can definitely say that my body has this one number that it seems to like. I can eat crap or eat really great healthy foods in a 1 week span and I will see the same number.

I have seen this number more times than I can remember! Before I was pregnant and on my weight loss journey, I was stuck for quite awhile at this “happy weight” (not so happy for me) Once I got past it, it was a constant fight to stay below. Now, after baby – I am stuck again! For the past 3 weeks I have bounced up and down but when it comes to weigh day (Friday) I see that dag-gone same number. I’m over it.

I thought for sure that adding regular running to my routine would help me bust through but it has not – I also started using a new method for my meal planning. I started following MShell fitness on Instagram and she has a method called #Gallonbaggiemethod. I will post on that later in the week. Follow the links to check it out in the meantime.

Anyway – there is some information to support the “set point” that your body has..but that’s not to say you cannot BREAK through it!! Your body may have a weight that it “thinks” it is happy but if you follow think below you can see how your body can be easily tricked!

http://www.bidmc.org/YourHealth/BIDMCInteractive/BreakThroughYourSetPoint/WeekOneTheScienceofSetPoint.aspx

Do you feel like your body has a weight that it really enjoys?

Have you broken through and reset your “set point”?

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

