Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

6 weeks to 1/2 Marathon – sounds like a Deja Vu post

on March 18, 2013

I think I put myself in a similar predicament last Fall..

The Nike 1/2 marathon is 6 weeks away – I need to really start going for my long runs ASAP!! Every weekend seems to have something in my way (odd – that is 1 of the excuses I hate to hear!)

My mom will be in town this weekend and Cale is out of town racing – so we have the whole weekend to do whatever we want!! So far, we have planned workouts, haha, maybe some cycling Friday night, TRX on Saturday morning and then a nice run on the Tobacco Trail on Sunday. In order for me to stop freaking out I think I need to do at least 6 miles (don’t worry mom – I won’t force the full 6 miles on you.) A little Mellow Mushroom afterwards would be a nice motivator!! So far, I have completed a few solid 4 milers, not exactly the distance building runs you need to complete a 1/2!! With my new body, I have experienced some significant changes: I lose my breath much faster, my heart rate is very quick to respond to work, my gait feels a little off (some lateral foot pain), and my clothes are irritating haha! Just to name a few of my challenges!

I am however, really excited about this run because a group of my friends signed up also! I think we have 5 or 6 in our group – we won’t necessarily run together the whole time but at least I know I have some support along the course. I am genuinely concerned that I might get ushered off the course by the lovely pace cart 😦 I will be 24 weeks pregnant come race day and who knows what my body is going to throw at me! I have been reading a lot about running while pregnant and reading other women’s stories so I know it can be done. I definitely won’t beat my last race time but I will finish – that is the goal for this one. Sort of like the first 1/2 I did – just finish, get your medal, and enjoy the experience. Except this time that medal is a Tiffany Necklace!!

I can't wait to see these gentleman at the Finish Line with my necklace!!

I can’t wait to see these gentleman at the Finish Line with my necklace!!

Here’s the running plan for the next 6 weeks:

Tuesdays & Thursdays: Run 4-6 miles

3/24: 6 miler

3/30: 7 miler

4/6 or 7: 8 miler (we are moving into our new house this weekend!!)

4/13: 9 miler

4/20: 10 miler (last long run)

4/28: Race Day!

I imagine the longer my runs begin to be, the more running/walking I will be doing and I am totally okay with that!!

3 responses to “6 weeks to 1/2 Marathon – sounds like a Deja Vu post

  1. Anonymous says:

    Can we do Zumba??????

  2. Mary says:

    I can ride the trail with you some day when you need company!

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

