Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Done annnd Done

on October 22, 2012

I finished my first solo 1/2 marathon and my 2nd ever 1/2 marathon!!! I am so relieved it’s over BUT I can’t wait for the next one!!

Going into this race I was told by a lot of people how hilly the course was…I think they down-played just how HILLY it was! I stopped counting after 15…I could not believe it! It seemed like every time I turned a corner, there was another huge hill and another one right after that. I was constantly looking at my watch to see where my Heart Rate was, I start to struggle big time when it gets over 185. Like my legs want to stop moving and I am panting like a dog…strugglin’! I stayed between 160-175 on the flats and downhills but every time I was on a hill it shot up over 185…it hit 199 one time (I think it was mile 12, that hill was a beast) Towards the end, my hip flexors and calves were feeling the hills big time. Oh and guess what, the last .3 or so was uphill..who puts a finish line at the top of a hill??

At the start, I picked a girl (she was around my age) and told myself I would finish before her..no reason for picking her other than she had on a bright pink shirt haha. She was ahead of me for the first 5 miles but I could still see her, miles 6-9 I was ahead of her (YES!), then 10-11 she charged ahead (she flew by me), 11-13.1 I passed her and finished ahead of her!! The weirdest things get me through a run, picking somebody to race with (secretly), dancing to my new favorite playlist, and the most random conversations in my head (not out loud) I did catch myself singing out loud a few times, which then caused me to laugh out loud – at least I know I can entertain myself for 2 hours and 42 minutes! Oh yeah, that was my finish time, a personal record!!! I had my fastest 5K and 10K time. The fact that the course was hilly and I ran faster than I have ever before, tells me I can do better on my next race!

Here is the playlist I used..I took some serious time to make this one and it was the best! Perfect pacing!!

I should probably tell you about the night before the race..less than ideal. I ended up being the DD for the Cale and his friend, I didn’t go to bed until 12:45!! We went to watch the State game at this new place Yardhouse, some friends met up with us and we moved on to World of Beer. I was pounding some seltzer water, regular water, and Gatorade haha, life of the party right here! I’m the person at a bar with the Gatorade packet in her purse, adding it to water. I would not recommend that night before race day strategy, but it all worked out!

Me after finishing the Durham Ramblin’ Rose 1/2 Marathon

I went home, showered and got ready for the last day of the NC State Fair!! I had been saving my 1 fair day for eating purposes only, you can’t go to the fair without indulging. I thought I would have been ravenous and eating the day away but I could barely finish my lunch, talk about disappointing! I did however, manage to finish my NC State Ice Cream, this is the best ice cream I have ever tasted..not exaggerating!

It’s so FRESH!

Cookies and Cream is my go-to

I would say this was a great weekend!! I am so lucky to have the support of my family and friends.. they encourage and inspire me! Thank you guys!

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

