Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

I Get By With a Little Help From My Friends

on October 18, 2012

Well…I think I spoke too soon when I said Cale (my husband) was going to work out with me! He changed his mind plans..

Sums up my reaction

Pigs aren’t flying and hell hasn’t frozen over..I should have known better haha. His/our friend (Best Man) was staying with us for a few days so they hung out while I dominated my 10 miler!!!
He did warn me the night before that he wasn’t going to. Let’s just say I went to work Tuesday morning a little whiny and definitely not looking forward to running 10 miles on the treadmill!

Good thing I have a dear friend who is also a member of my Fitness Center (I say that like it’s mine – it’s not I just work there 🙂 ) who is more than happy to listen while I complain (sometimes) haha! Well, it just so happened that she would be done with her work for the day at 1:30 and she offered to ride her bike alongside me while I ran!!!

Side note: I am not a wuss and I do not always need somebody with me when I run outside…I needed to do this run on the Tobacco Trail and there have been a lot of attacks on the Trail. It is really unfortunate because the trail is a great resource we have and stupid people have to ruin it! Supposedly, there is a constant bike cop patrol going on…we saw 1 bike cop for the entire 2 hours!

Remember how I said I needed a good, strong run before my 1/2 marathon THIS SUNDAY?!?! Well, this was it – it was perfect 70 ish degrees, sunny, I could not have asked for a more perfect day! I felt strong, my legs did not get tired and I got faster towards the end. I believe that is called “hitting your stride.” This was a confidence building run, I now have lost all doubts going into Sunday. I may have done it a little late in the training game but, it’s done and I’m good to go. I know it’s just a run but, it has done a lot of good things for me:

  • it built my confidence back up
  • got me excited about running again
  • made me realize how much stronger I have gotten (I recovered very quickly, not sore today)
  • I am now looking forward to Sunday
  • it showed me that I will more than likely PR by about 20 minutes!!!
  • and allowed me to have quality time with a friend (we were out there for 2 hours)

Post 10 mile run for me, 10 mile bike for Mary

After we finished up, we went to Moonberries for some FroYo! Hey, I’m carb-loading! On Monday, I go back to my normal eating habits..I have a goal to meet!

Mine has all the gummi bears – love those things (it’s been a long time since I have had this stuff) My stomach did hurt later

Looking back, it’s probably a good thing Cale didn’t go with me..it could have been a whole different experience!!

Many thanks to Mary!!

 

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

