Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Training Troubles

on October 12, 2012

I have exactly 9 days before my 2nd ever 1/2 marathon…..and I am NOT excited about it at all!! My last few runs have been horrrribleeee, the race route is reallly hilly, my foot hurts (peroneal tendinitis) and I just found out my running partner can’t do the race anymore!!

I did a 10 miler on Tuesday -terrible, I attempted a 10 miler this morning – got 8 but it took everything I had. I need to have 1 good long run before this thing! Just for mental preparedness purposes I am going for 1 last attempt at a solid, strong 10 miler on Monday morning or Tuesday afternoon. I am taking Saturday off and Sunday I will do my normal double-down at SYNC: 1 hour of TRX, 1 hour of Cycle-Sculpt. This last attempt has to be a good one or else I will be very tempted to not even show up next Sunday. My mind has to be in the right place, maybe subconsciously I don’t want to do this race or there is something else…

Lack of carbohydrates may be are the reason my long runs have been terrible …I am stuck between a rock and a hard place on this one. Having to increase my “good carb” intake is going to be hard, I tried it the other day and I felt crappy! I had a headache, I was tired, blah blah blah…and my run still wasn’t a good one! Carbs are the first source your body goes to & sticks with for awhile when you are working out. With the way I eat now, my body is having to turn to fats then proteins to get me through a long run and that is not so effective or efficient. It seems like my body burns through my carbohydrate intake rapidly then moves on the fats (which is probably why I feel like I hit a wall) Protein is your bodies last choice for fuel. I may have to skip this week’s weigh-in haha

It could be a combination of a few things: my “eat-style”, my mindset, and my running partner (for this race) dropping out. It’s tough to get through 13.1 miles by yourself!

I have tried 7 out of these 10 and I got nothing…

This is how I have felt on my last 3 attempts at a solid long run

I’ve got some adjustments to make this weekend and upcoming week in order to get it done; add more complex carbs (nothing really heavy though), get my mind right #getafterit, and I will change up my music. Please send any music suggestions my way!!

Maybe this needs to be my new mantra…

I usually do….

 

 

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

