Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Workout of the Week

on September 10, 2012

Every Monday at work, I post a Workout of the Week, and any member can do it at any time during the week it is posted. I started doing this about 5 months ago and a Monday night group slowly started forming and has grown into something bigger than I expected! Let me tell you, these workouts are not easy and they are done much better in a group.  They are do-able alone, you just have to be able to push yourself through it! I put the workout together in order to challenge their routine and get them outside of their comfort zones.

Very much like some Crossfit programming, the workouts are varied, challenging, and functional. I am a big fan of Crossfit and wish I could be a member of SyncStudio and a Box but that is just not practical for me! I used to do Crossfit Bootcamp for about 4 months (2 different times) I absolutely loved it and really miss it! I was able to be really competitive and take down boys (men) in the workouts – it felt so good! If you are unfamiliar with Crossfit you can check out their website, I guarantee there are at least 2 boxes within 20 miles of you!!

Since this Workout of the Week has become so popular at IBM, I decided to post that same workout here (just in case anybody wanted to try it) They will look a little intimidating but they are well worth it!! This weeks workout is:

Warm-up:

3 rounds of

Run .25 miles or Row 500 meters

30 Box Jumps or Step-Ups (30 each leg if you choose step-ups)

30 WallBall – watch this to see how to WallBall, we usually use a weighted Medicine Ball

Then do:

100 Sit-ups

90 Lunges (45 each leg)

80 Mountain Climbers (80 each leg or a 2-count)

70 Shoulder Press

60 Jump Squats

50 Push-ups

40 Pull-ups (you can do these a lot of different ways; regular strict pull-ups, assisted with a machine or a band, or you can do Lat Pulldowns)

30 WallBall

20 Burpees

10 Star Jumps

As fast as you can!!!

HAVE FUN

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

