Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Finding Motivation to Keep on Truckin’

on September 9, 2012

As I write this post, I am layed out  sitting on my couch…sore and wiped out! Having done 2 Double down (back to back classes) days in a row at Sync, my body is tired. Looking ahead to my 5:00 AM  wake-up call for my 5:45 Total Body Circuit class, my excitement level on scale of 0 – Richard Simmons is most definitely a 0! This is not the first time I have felt this way..it happens more times than I would like to admit. BUT, I have developed some tactics/strategies to fight back…

  1. I set 2-3 different alarm times (some call it a snooze option) I like to refer to them as chances, first chance 5:00, second chance 5:05 and third 5:10
  2. I pre-plan and lay out my workout clothes the night before..sometimes if I am really excited about an outfit I only need the 1st chance to wake me up
  3. Think about all of the other things you can get done around the house after your workout is over..it is crazy how much I get done in the morning after a workout!!
  4. The last one is really Cale – he can guilt me out of bed in the morning, unfortunately, he hears my alarms! He will poke me in the back, gently nudge me towards the edge of the bed and if that doesn’t work he kills me with question “Don’t you have a workout?” UGH the guilt that comes with that question!!!

Once I move around the room for a few minutes, I am wide awake and ready to roll! 1 hour and 15 minutes later, I am done with my workout and feeling better than ever.  Conquering any housework or running a million errands before 9 am feels amazing!!

No matter what time of day you workout, there are always things that are going to kill your motivation..finding ways around them and pushing through to get your workout in each day is soooo important! Here are some doctor (from the MayoClinic) inspired tips to help you stay motivated..

1. Set goals

Start with simple goals and then progress to longer range goals. Remember to make your goals realistic and achievable. It’s easy to get frustrated and give up if your goals are too ambitious.

2. Make it fun

Find sports or activities that you enjoy, then vary the routine to keep you on your toes. If you’re not enjoying your workouts, try something different. Join a volleyball or softball league. Take a ballroom dancing class. Check out a health club or martial arts center. Discover your hidden athletic talent. Remember, exercise doesn’t have to be drudgery — and you’re more likely to stick with a fitness program if you’re having fun.

3. Make physical activity part of your daily routine

If it’s hard to find time for exercise, don’t fall back on excuses. Schedule workouts as you would any other important activity. You can also slip in physical activity throughout the day. Be creative! Take a walk during your child’s music lesson. Take the stairs instead of the elevator at work. Pedal a stationary bike or do strength training exercises with resistance tubing while you watch TV at night.

4. Put it on paper

Are you hoping to lose weight? Boost your energy? Sleep better? Manage a chronic condition? Write it down! Seeing the benefits of regular exercise on paper may help you stay motivated. It may also help to keep an exercise diary. Record what you did during each exercise session, how long you exercised and how you felt afterward. Recording your efforts can help you work toward your goals — and remind you that you’re making progress.

5. Join forces with friends, neighbors or others

You’re not in this alone. Invite friends or co-workers to join you when you exercise. Work out with your partner or other loved ones. Play soccer with your kids. Organize a group of neighbors to take fitness classes at a local health club.

6. Reward yourself

After each exercise session, take a few minutes to savor the good feelings that exercise gives you. This type of internal reward can help you make a long-term commitment to regular exercise. External rewards can help, too. When you reach a longer range goal, treat yourself to a new pair of walking shoes or new tunes to enjoy while you exercise.

7. Be flexible

If you’re too busy to work out or simply don’t feel up to it, take a day or two off. Be gentle with yourself if you need a break. The important thing is to get back on track as soon as you can.

Now that you’re enthusiastic again, get moving! Set your goals, make it fun and pat yourself on the back from time to time. Remember, physical activity is for life. Review these tips whenever you feel your motivation sliding.

Pinned Image

 


Leave a comment

Home and DIY Crafts Blog for Moms

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

Being fit is always in style.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Run Eat Repeat

Running, Weight loss and Healthy Living

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit NYC

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness