Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

“Eat”style changes

on August 27, 2012

I have been on a weight loss journey for a little while now and as a personal trainer/Fitness Professional with a degree in Exercise Science; I thought it would be easy. I know all the things I need to do and eat, the weight will just fall off, right? I had no idea…I never really focused on weight loss by numbers or really any variables. I just worked out until I fit back into my clothes, I never really changed my diet – the weight just vanished! I’m not sure if this has anything to do with my age (I’m only 25) or if my body is teaching me a lesson but this time has been a STRUGGLE! I am focusing on my numbers and weighing in weekly – I have commissioned one of my best friends to do this also and we e-mail each other every Thursday with our weigh-in. We both like  a little “healthy” competition and it is really helping us.  There have been some very difficult times where no matter what I did, the scale showed no progress and there have been some extremely rewarding times!

I was sort of at a stand still where I could not get below a certain number, I was doing all of the right things fitness wise – I was cycling 5x per week, running 2-3x and circuit training 3x per week mostly at SYNC STUDIO (my favorite place other than my house) That may sound a like a lot but I am already at a certain fitness level where I can do all of those things and recover fairly quickly. I realized I needed to do something about my diet- I was using Calorie Count to track my daily caloric intake (very cool website) and staying under 1750 calories per day – I was averaging a deficit of 750-1000 per day!! To lose 1 pound you need to burn 3500 calories. I should have been losing 1.5 – 2 lbs per week- well that was NOT happening!

Something needed to give!! I had read in the past about high protein-low carb eating and thought I should give that a try, there is a lot of positive studies and research supporting this “eat”style. So I figured out my food list and every meal was planned – my first week I lost 4 pounds! I had kept my carbs under 75 grams per day and my tummy felt flat immediately, I had more energy, and I felt full!

I started this “eat”style in the middle of May and have lost 20 pounds since!!! I will not pretend that it is easy to make this drastic of a change but the results make it more than worth it. “If there is no struggle, there is no progress.” I can honestly say, when I do have way more carbs than I should – my stomach hurts like crazy, I feel sluggish and unmotivated, not to mention immediately bloated. Carbs are evil!!!

Take a look at this and see if that does not change your perspective!

This article was really interesting and insightful…

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/01/opinion/sunday/what-really-makes-us-fat.html

Since changing how I eat, I am happier than ever and am still working towards my goal – I have about 15 more pounds to go!! I hope to be there before November, I have a few runs in late October early November and I would appreciate moving much less weight around!! Try it for 1 week and I can guarantee you will lose a few pounds and more importantly you will feel better!!

2 responses to ““Eat”style changes

  1. Hmmmmm… I like it!!!! Keep up the good work.

    MoM

  2. Jill says:

    Great article!!! I’m gonna give this a try!!

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

