Fitspire

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Family Mud Run and Friendly Competition

on July 31, 2012

So my amazing family who I said inspires me pretty much everyday has gone and done it again!  On August 11th, we are fielding 2 teams in the ASYMCA Mud Run in Virginia Beach!!! My team consists of myself, my mom, my Uncle Kevin (who is also doing a Sandman Triathlon), my cousin Chelsea, and another cousin by marriage Joel!! Our team name is “Mudsketeers”, earlier today my mom was registering us under the name “Mudskeeters!” It’s amazing how 1 letter being off can change a word so much – haha!

The course sounds pretty grueling – just less than a 5 mile run with obstacles through the surf, sand, mud and muck on the Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek & Fort Story. Obstacles on the Mud Run course include wire crawl, tire obstacles, mazes and of course the infamous mud pit ~ Not to mention running in the sand! My cousins also have put a team together full of long-legged, fast runners! Again- I am not a fast runner AT ALL and the thought of having to keep up with my really fast Uncle (who I’ve always looked up to because he is AWESOME) is making me nauseous! I know this is supposed to be a “fun” run but my competitive spirit will surely overpower that within the first few minutes!

I am beyond excited for this but seriously need to ramp up my intensity over this next week and a half! My treadmill workout today was taken from PBFingers and it was a “make your face sweat” workout like she promised!

Image

It was perfect!

I also taught my normal Tuesday morning Abs class this morning, and it was intense!

150 reps of Sit-ups

150 reps of Russian Twists

(break them into 3 sets of 50) for :45 seconds in between each set do plank-ups/torture

100 reps of Back Extensions

100 reps of Flutter Kicks

(break them into 2 sets of 50) for :45 seconds in between each set do mountain climbers

50 reps of leg raises

50 reps of what I called Suitcases or V-Ups

My class were total rockstars and killed it – they were so ready to crush this workout at 7:20 am!!

Tomorrow morning I make my return to one of my favorite places – SyncStudio!!!! I have not been since last Wednesday, 1 WHOLE WEEK!!! You might be laughing, thinking I am a little crazy – it’s only 1 week! No!, 1 week away from your routine can lead to 2 weeks, 3, you see where I am going with this! I seriously love this place and I am sure I will post a lot more about my experiences there. I can honestly say that SyncStudio is responsible for getting me back on track with my workouts! Plus, they have this awesome program going on right now that involves some competition. Are you noticing a trend with me?

Image

Consistency is key! It takes 6 weeks for a habit to be formed; give yourself 6 weeks to establish a fitness routine and you will see change!! Stick with it – it does not happen overnight!

 

One response to “Family Mud Run and Friendly Competition

  1. AWESOME!!!!!
    INSPIRATIONAL XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

Mama Laughlin

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

The Fitnessista

At-Home Workouts, Fitness Plans and Healthy Living Tips

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

Fit Bottomed Mamas

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

Chic Runner

Just another WordPress.com site

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

Fit Bottomed Girls

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

CrossFit New York City | Workouts That Work | Smarter Fitness

Follow my many fitness adventures and my post-pregnancy weight loss journey

RunToTheFinish

Be Your Best Runner

Sarah Fit

Enabling Your Passion For Healthy Living

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

